Newbie Help

Hello. I am new to quicken. I am trying to work on my own accounting to match my bank records, and Quicken helps show transactions better than a bank printout.

When I d/l my bank account info and it shows mostly accurate amounts through the last 90 days (It has a starting date of October 7, 2021. I am trying to add records to the balance from further back, say June 2021 through the present. I have downloaded the additional dates and imported them, however the figures are now all off. I am guessing because rather than compute amounts from the starting October date backward, it recreates a false starting amount from the first transaction, now in June, which unfortunately was a debt, when reality the actual balance was ~25K.

Sorry so winded. Is there a way to go 6-9 months back and have Quicken show the actual account balance on the first date? I am hopefuly quicken can determine and impute it, because part of my issue is reconcilng my banks balance, versus my personal balance.

Thank you for any help or insight!

Comments

• Bob_L
    Bob_L SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    You can make the first transaction to what the opening balance should be.  Opening balances are categorized as a transfer back to the same account.  So if your account is named mychecking, categorize that first transaction as [mychecking].  If there was another transaction showing an opening balance from those first downloads,  just delete it.

Quicken Business & Personal Subscription, Windows 11 Home

• hopper33
    hopper33 Member
    Sorry. I am not sure that works. All I have is an ending balance. I am trying to "back math" to an opening balance, so eventually I can see all transactions to find out what I missed in my personal accounting. Also, when open up an imported larger time frame from today back 6 months, the end balance (today's) is much larger than my bank's amount.

I wish I could manaully enter the end balance, and the program would alter accordingly.

Thanks for the reponse!