How to transfer Quicken subscription to new computer & avoid glitches?

Megapixels18
Megapixels18 Member ✭✭
I have a valid subscription to Quicken Premier (Windows), currently installed on a Windows 10 computer that has stopped working altogether. Quicken data file is backed up to an external hard drive. I’ll need to buy a new computer, with Windows 11 (my current computer isn’t upgradable to Windows 11 anyway, even if it were fixed somehow). How do I install my Quicken Premier subscription to the new computer, so I can then load the data file from my back-up?

Somewhere else in the Community I read something about various problems using Quicken with Windows 11. I don’t know what version of Quicken I have, since I can’t access my computer, but I had downloaded whatever was the latest update within the last month. (My computer failure is only a little over a week old.). One commenter, regarding the problems using Quicken in Windows 11, said it might be due to a specific graphics card. Does Quicken work in Windows 11 only with certain graphics cards? If so, what kind(s) should I have (or avoid) in the new computer?

Best Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Hi @Megapixels18

You should be able to install Quicken Premier on a Windows 11 machine with no problems.  While Quicken doesn't specifically indicate compatibility with Windows 11 yet, many Q users are running Quicken on Windows 11. 

I would suggest that you create a good backup of your Quicken datafile before you install it on your new Windows computer and then load and run Quicken on it.  If things don't go well, get back to us here (or contact Quicken Support via this LINK) and we'll see if we can help. 

Frankx

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓