Number of Accounts Permitted in One File

Eric in AZ
Eric in AZ Member ✭✭
Hello All,
Although I've been using Quicken in one form or another since the '80s (remember DOS anyone?), I'm new to this Forum.
I understand that a Quicken file can have up to 512 Accounts of EACH TYPE (there seem to be six types of Accounts: Spending, Savings, Credit, Investment, Asset, and Liability). Since I have been using my file for so many years, I sometimes worry about running out of Accounts. If I find that I don't need an Account any longer, and it has only a few transactions that are quite old, I will sometimes re-categorize the transactions so that the Account is empty, and then rename the Account as "Available Asset 01" or some such, so I can re-use it when something new comes along. I believe that if you actually delete the Account, its spot is lost forever and reduces the 512 count permanently. I'm sure I deleted lots of Accounts over the years before I learned of the 512 limit.
The crux of my question is this: Is there any way to find out how many Accounts have been deleted in each type? Or, more specifically, how many of each type are still available for future use?
Thank you.

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi @Eric in AZ,

While I cannot point to a specific place, either here in the community or on any specific Quicken webpage, to support this, it is my understanding that deleting an account (or accounts) reduces the number of accounts that you have.  And the limitation is on existing accounts, not including deleted accounts.

Therefore you only need to manage the number of accounts that are live/active/existing today (as opposed to dead, deleted, or erased).  And ergo, you don't need to find out how many accounts you may have deleted.  As far as a method to determine how many accounts of each type you have - the Account List is the place I go for that information.

Hope this helps.

Frankx