I have noticed over the past several months that Quicken is running slow on a desktop and laptop.

What can I do to speed up the launch, usage and OSU. I am running on my desktop a core i7, 32GB of RAM, M.2 Drive. While running the program, RAM usage is below 30%, CPU is around 5%. I have the program stored on the desktop. I do move it between my laptop and desktop as needed. I have run SFC /ScanNow, I have validated the Quicken file. My file size is around 203mb.

It is getting almost unusable, it is so slow. I have no issues running Office products, Acrobat, Chrome, Edge and Firefox. Internet is 1gb down, and 200mb up.

I work from home and have lots of apps I use related to work and nothing is slow, except Quicken.

Please help me get Quicken program to feel like Windows 11 time and not Windows NT Workgroup. I have been using Quicken since 1994. Running Quicken Home and Business, run a rental business, an IT business and have many Securities.

What is the issue with running so slow?

Comments

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

Is your laptop plugged in while you're working with Quicken or are you running on battery with power saving reduced performance settings?
    Check your Control Panel / Power Options. Make sure the selected Power Plan allows for best performance while plugged in and while on battery.

Here's some more info to look at regarding performance: https://community.quicken.com/discussion/7915476/faq-are-there-any-windows-settings-that-can-improve-quicken-s-performance

• KeithSCDC
    KeithSCDC Member ✭✭✭
    About 90% of the time, i am on my tower computer, which is a Core i7, 32GB of RAM, and is plugged into a USA 110 power outlet. This is where i complain of slowness. I am on my laptop, and the power options are set as you described.

This is part of the issue, slowness or some other problem, i don't know, but please look at the attachment. This happens almost every time I am in quicken.