How do I get downloaded transactions to allow me to select that the cash is coming from checking?

Options
madpop
madpop Member
edited March 2023 in Investing (Windows)
I am new to using the Investment feature. I have downloaded transactions from T Rowe Price. The action shows as either Bought or BoughtX. There is no offsetting transaction to show where the cash came from to make the purchase. In the Edit Transaction screen, the box for selecting where the cash came from is grayed out. How do I get this to work?

Answers

• Frankx
    Frankx SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @madpop,

I assume that you are transferring funds from some other existing account, into your T Rowe Price brokerage account, in order to fund these investments prior to effecting the purchase transactions in the TRP account.  The downloaded transactions from T Rowe Price do not include any transactions related to the funding because TRP doesn't care to "know" what you are going to do when you deposit funds into your accounts, or when.  All they track is that you deposited funds and then when you invest those funds, they track those investments.

You need to record the funding transactions in Quicken yourself, or download those transactions from your financial institution (bank) and you record those transactions when you fund the brokerage account, not when you purchase securities using those funds.

Let me know if you have any followup questions.

Frankx 

Quicken Home, Business & Rental Property - Windows 10-Home Version

- - - - Quicken User since 1984 - - - 
      -  If you find this reply helpful, please click "Helpful" (below), so others will know! Thank you.  -

• madpop
    madpop Member
    Options