Question on Quicken Memorized Payees

Options

I'm new to Quicken and I have a subscription to Quicken Home and Business. I have a question about the memorized payees list. When looking at the list, there are amounts listed. Does this mean that Quicken will put those amounts in when downloading new transactions? Why are the amounts on the memorized payees list???? Where can I learn more about this? Any recommendations for tutorials would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Featherchaser (Sheri)

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

The reason there are amounts is because the Memorized Payee list is dual purpose (maybe it shouldn't be, but history created it that way). When you are manually entering transactions and enter a payee that is on that list Quicken will bring up the memorized payee that matches it, including the amount. This is the feature that came first.

And then the memorized payee list was reused when downloading of transactions was possible. Quicken will use the downloaded amount and even the downloaded memo if it is there (unless you set an option not to use the downloaded memo). It will use the category/tag from the memorized payee entry.

Note that there are also renaming rules to "normalize" your payee names (change Safeway #3434 to Safeway) so that they match your memorized payee.

Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • featherchaser
    featherchaser Member
    Options

Chris: