Tracking US Savings Bond Interest does NOT update Market Value

Unknown
Unknown Member
edited November 2018 in Investing (Windows)
I want to track the value of US Savings Bonds (2018 Quicken for Windows ). Going by the instructions in Quicken, I have setup a Brokerage acct and a security for my series EE bonds. I then entered a Buy transaction for initial shares along with the price/share. Then, I entered an Intinc transaction for all of the interest earned todate. However, the market value is not updated to reflect the current value of the bonds. If I use the ReInv transaction I have to enter the number of shares which increases the share balance and changes the market value to the total interest re-invested NOT the total bond price plus the interest. Is there a way to enter Interest Income and have the market value reflected correctly?

Comments

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2018
    I am not an expert on savings bonds in Quicken, but I think the best way to handle this depends on how you will be treating the interest for tax purposes.

Most people let the interest add to the value of the bond and only pay taxes on it when they sell the bond. If you have a $100 bond, you could buy 1 "share" for $50.00 and periodically change the share price to match the current value. When you sell the bond, you would record all the accumulated interest then sell the bond at $25.00.

If it is a tax deferred account or you are paying taxes on the interest every year, you would record Interest Income for the interest as it accumulates and let the interest money accumulate as cash in the account. 

QWin Premier subscription
  • Unknown
    Unknown Member
    edited October 2018

I am not an expert on savings bonds in Quicken, but I think the best way to handle this depends on how you will be treating the interest for tax purposes.