Downloads overwhelming - where to start

I've been using Q for almost 30 years, during which I've entered almost everything manually (downloads seemed to be more trouble than they were worth). Been using Q 2011 for the past 5 years or so. A couple years ago, my investment situation became a lot more complex, with dozens of individual equities and bonds. At that point I stopped entering the investment info, and just relied on brokerage statements for updates.
Now I've taken the plunge with Q 2019, and would like to download updates to the investment accounts. The question is how to proceed.
My first attempt resulted in dozens of popup dialog boxes titled "Was the security renamed?" These were entirely bizarre - asking, for instance, whether the existing name Microsoft should be matched with the new name Home Depot. No matter how I answer, the result is a mess of incomplete transactions, possibly because Q is not downloading back far enough to obtain the info.
Then there are more dozens of dialog boxes saying that Q needs more info on this transaction, and a wizard will guide me thru it. But when I click OK, no wizard appears.
So I'm left wondering how much info I'll need to enter manually in order to make this work. Or whether there's some other way to approach this. Any ideas? Thanks!

Comments

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

Steve, what financial institution are you having this issue with? How is your preference set for Downloaded Transactions - is the box checked for Automatically Add Downloaded Transactions to Investment Transaction Lists?

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

• Steve308@
    Steve308@ Member ✭✭
    Financial Institution: Fidelity. Haven't wanted to automatically add transactions, thought it would be better to check them first. Maybe that's not a good idea?
  • Steve308@
    Steve308@ Member ✭✭