How to delete security I no longer hold?

Options
sgoodmanmd
sgoodmanmd Member
edited May 2022 in Investing (Mac)
I have been using Quicken since the 1990s, and now use the Mac subscription version, 5.14. My Schwab acct includes many securities that I no longer own, going back 10 & 20 yrs, with balances. When I try to delete them, it says they are active and doesn't let me. So my Schwab balance is wildly off. I have seen many answers to this question for Windows versions, but they use commands that don't seem available on the mac version. What do I do?

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options
    You can't delete securities you have used in your data file, but you can Hide them. For most people, that proves sufficient.

But I'm curious about your comment that your balance is off. If you liquidated these securities, they should show zero shares in your portfolio and not affect your balance. So you may need to dig in to find out why your balance is off. If they are showing in Quicken that you still own them, then somewhere along the way, you didn't record the sales of those securities properly in Quicken. If you don't care about what happened, or why, years ago, you can likely just go back to some point in time and enter transactions to remove shares to zero out your holdings of these securities. Once you have your holding and balance in proper order, you can hide the securities you don't wish to see any more.
    Quicken Mac Subscription • Quicken user since 1993
  • RickO
    RickO SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options
    jacobs said:
    You can't delete securities you have used in your data file, but you can Hide them. For most people, that proves sufficient.
    That's a new one on me. Where's the option to hide a security?
    Quicken Mac Subscription; Quicken Mac user since the early 90s
  • RickO
    Options
    A couple more thoughts here...