How to show income & expense netted in Budget report but separated in Income/Expense report?

Hi everyone, I'm new to Quicken and bookkeeping so please go easy on me. :smile: I have looked everywhere in Quicken and can't figure this out, so thought I should ask here.

What I need:
- Generate a budget report that ties to a nonprofit's annual budget.
- Generate an "Income/Expense" type report that meets needs of tax accountant.

A little background:
I volunteer for a small nonprofit keeping books in their Quicken. They get income from membership fees, and spends them to host member events. Each event charges an entry fee and in return provides a heavily subsidized event. In their annual budget, membership fees are categorized as income, and everything else is categorized as expense since event entry fee + event spend is always a net expenditure. The Quicken categories match the organization's budget setup.

The issue arises when I need to send year end info to the tax accountant. They want to see income include both membership fees and event entry fees. The expenses should only include what the organization outlaid for events, not netted with entry fees for events. This makes sense to me, but I can't figure out how to reflect this in Quicken reports.

What I tried:
1. I thought if I have 2 versions of each category, one as income and one as expense, then they can show up under the correct section in the "Income/Expense by Category" report. However a) I can't make 2 categories with the same name even if one is set as income and one as expense, b) if I name them differently then they won't automatically net out in the "Current Budget" Quicken report to match with annual budget, and c) if I create 2 subcategories of a category, they must take both take the same income or expense type of the parent.