How to record extra principle payments

Forgive me for the simple question. I am really new to this
I have three accounts

Acct A: Under the Banking tab: Banking Acct: MyBussiness,LLC
Acct B: Under the Rental Property tab : 123 Main St
Acct C: Under the Property & Debt tab: A manually entered Mrg. loan linked to [123 Main St]

If I make an extra payment during the month to the mortgage from the MyBusiness,LLC.
How would I record that payment in Acct B AND C?
and will the stats in Acct C reflect that extra payment to show the change in future principle vs. interest ratio?

Thank you so much

Answers

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    not sure why you'd make an entry under Acct B.  That extra payment is all principle reduction and there should be no "expense' associated with it.  That payment should reduce your banking account balance (acct A) and reduce your loan balance (Acct C) by a similar amount. 

the future interest / principal split would be different
  • NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Assuming that the mortgage is a traditional fixed-rate type, the payment of additional principal will:
    1) alter your future payment amortization (since there will be less principal against which interest is charged), and
    2) move forward (closer to today) the date when the mortgage is paid off.

It won't change the amount of the monthly payments.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Ahmed
    Ahmed Member ✭✭
    Thank you both. If the payment does not need to be in Account B. then what purpose does account B serve? I thought the rental property module is to show all the income/expenses for that particular property!
  • Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭
    principle payments are not a revenue or an expense.  it's a reduction in a liability. 
  • Ahmed
    Ahmed Member ✭✭