Deleting an account that has transfer transactions

If I delete account "2" that has transfer transactions to/from account "1", what happens to those entries in the remaining, undeleted account?

Answers

  • Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭
    Those linked transactions in the undeleted account will remain intact but the category will be changed to [Unspecified Account].  You can then manually change the category for those affected transactions to something more appropriate.
    Something to consider:  If you delete that account you will lose all historical data for it which can be problematic if you do budgeting or use Tax Planner.  If instead of deleting the account you simply close it you will keep all that historical data and your linked transactions with it will remain intact.  And once the account is closed you can hide it so it does not show up in the Account List and Category List.
    (QW Premier Subscription: R33.24 on Windows 10)
Sign In or Register to comment.