how to reset a deleted account

Is there some way to reset a deleted account?

Answers

  • Sherlock
    Sherlock SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    The easiest way to reset a deleted account is to restore a Quicken file backup saved before the account was deleted: select File > Backup and Restore > Restore from Backup File...

    Before restoring a Quicken file backup (or opening an earlier version of a Quicken file), I suggest deleting the Quicken Cloud dataset (aka cloud account) associated with the Quicken file.  Note: You need to open another Quicken file to delete the appropriate cloud account.  You may want to review: https://www.quicken.com/support/how-edit-or-delete-your-cloud-datasets-quicken-windows

    The other Quicken file needs to have a distinct file identifier so that we may delete the cloud account associated with the original Quicken file.  For example, you may create a new Quicken file (select File > New Quicken File...) without any accounts and enable sync in preferences so you may view and delete the cloud account associated with the original Quicken file. 

    This is necessary because when we open or restore an another version of the Quicken file with the same file identifier, Quicken is not resetting the cloud account appropriately at this time.  I hope they will let us know when they have addressed this issue but, for now, before opening another Quicken file that has the same file identifier embedded, delete the cloud account.  

    Note: Only File > New Quicken File... generates a distinct file identifier.  All other forms of creating a Quicken file, copy the embedded identifier from another file.

  • mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Restoring a backup has certainly become complicated. 

    Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the  Quicken Windows FAQ list
  • Sherlock
    Sherlock SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    mshiggins said:
    Restoring a backup has certainly become complicated. 

    Yes. It has.  If you don't sync accounts, don't use Express Web Connect, and haven't modified your categories, accounts, memorized payees, or reminders since the backup, you're probably okay not deleting the the cloud account before the restore.  In this case, however, an account was deleted.  
Sign In or Register to comment.