Investment account has two linked cash accounts

I have been using Quicken since 2006. I have an investment account the appears to have two linked cash accounts. One functions normally when buying and selling securities and has the correct amount. The name on the one that works correctly is the Account Name - Cash. On the holdings summary page for the account, there is another cash account that has an amount in it that I can not change and it makes the overall totals for the account incorrect. The one on the summary page is simply named Cash. The Account figures prior to adding this figure are correct. This account has been active since 2013, so it has a lot of entries.

What I would like to do is make the one account on the summary page named Cash read $0.00. That will make every thing read correctly.

I am running Quicken Premier Windows 10 Home subscription. Version R32.12 Build 27.1.32.12.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Paulo

Comments

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    If you look at the Account Overview (Holdings view) for the account, is the Cash amount the same as the balance of the linked cash account? If so, that is normal operation. The total at the bottom of the Market Value column should be the value of the securities in the account plus the balance of the linked cash account.

Are you seeing something different - a second Cash line perhaps?
    QWin Premier subscription
  • Paulo
    Paulo Member
    Yes, I am seeing two different figures. I have attached a screen shot of the account holdings page. The linked cash balance is correct. The other one Cash Balance is incorrect. Everything would be correct if the Cash Balance was zero or the same as the linked cash balance. It inflates the value of the account by the amount of the Cash Balance. Thanks for the time to send me a note. Any further assistance is greatly appreciated.
  • Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭