Best Practice for Recording Car Purchase/Loan

Options
Austin@
Austin@ Mac Beta Beta
I just purchased a new car, and am hoping to learn how best to set up the purchase and associated loan in Quicken Mac.

I purchased the car for $14,974 and put a down payment of $3,500, and financed the remainder. So far, I've set up an asset account for the car and a loan account for the loan, and for the purchase transaction, I have set up the following splits:
  • Purchase price set up as a transfer to the asset account
  • Split lines for dealer fees, registration fees, etc. categorized as expenses
  • Positive loan amount set up as a transfer to the loan account
This results in the net amount of the transaction being the $3,500 down payment, with the asset account now showing a positive balance representing the purchase price of the car and the loan account showing a negative balance for the amount financed, like so:

I'm new to this, so I'm not sure if this is the best way to handle something like this. Is it typical/best practice to set up both an asset account and a loan account when purchasing a vehicle so Quicken can more accurately calculate Net Worth? Or would it be better to simply forget the split lines and transfers and just record the $3,500 down payment as an Auto & Transport expense, have the loan account set up separate, and forget about the asset account representing the car's value at the time of purchase?

Any ideas/thoughts/recommendations are appreciated. Thanks!

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options