Changing transfer into income

Options
Hi, I'm new to Quicken and can't figure something out.

I have business and personal accounts. I usually pay myself (like employees) through direct deposit. My business accounts aren't part of my Quicken. I had a simple reimbursement so I just transferred the money from a business account into my personal account.

This shows up as transfer. It looks like:
Acct: Family Num: TXFER Category: Bills & Utilities: Credit Card Payment.

How do I change that into income, instead of a transfer?

Thanks

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2021
    Options
    You say that your business accounts aren't part of your Quicken.  I assume that means that any business checking accounts, credit card accounts and any other accounts associated with your business are in a separate and distinct file from your personal Quicken file.  If that's the case then I can't understand how taking money out of a business account, (how did you account for that in your Quicken business file?) and depositing it in a personal checking account, (or, perhaps, having the business pay your personal credit card directly), could show up as any sort of "transfer." 
    In Quicken the word "transfer" is associated with moving dollars from one Account to another Account in the same file.
    If you moved money from a business checking account to a personal checking account then you'd record that as some sort of "income" in your personal file, then use that money to pay your credit card.*
    If the business checking account paid your personal credit card directly, then you'd simply make offsetting entries in your personal checking account, i.e., a "phantom" deposit of the cash, categorized appropriately, and then a "phantom" payment of the credit card.  That would leave your checking Account balance unchanged and that second transaction would, properly, be called a "transfer."