How do I get my .QDF file for Quicken Starter to sync on Apple iMac & Apple MacBook Air

Options
I'd really appreciate some help and advice on how to get my .QDF file to sync between my Apple iMac and Apple MacBook Air. I have Quicken Starter installed on both, but I have not been able to get the data file to sync.

I'm not an expert in IT so if you can help with simple steps, I'd be extremely grateful.

Comments

• Greg_the_Geek
    Greg_the_Geek SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    You can't sync the 2 data files. You need to backup from one computer and restore on the other and then reverse the process.
    Quicken Subscription HBRP - Windows 10
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options
    Please clarify something. You refer to a .QDF data file, which is a Quicken Windows data file. Are you moving from Quicken Windows to Mac? Or were you just calling it "QDF" as a shortcut for your data file? (Quicken data files in Quicken Mac end with a ".quicken" extension.) I'm going to assume you're not using a Windows data file for the rest of this answer, but if you are, please post back so we can point you to directions for correctly importing your Windows file.

Next, you can't sync a data file between two different desktop computers. You can sync between the mobile app or web interface and a desktop Mac, but the desktop Mac contains your authoritative and complete data file.

One option is to move your Quicken data file between the two Macs. The key to doing this successfully is to only move a compressed version of the file between two Macs. What's "compressed" file? (a) In the Finder, click on your data file and select File > Compress. This creates a copy of your file with a .zip extension which is safe to move between machines. (b) In Quicken, do File > Backup to create a Quicken Backup file with a .quickenbackup extension, and this is safe to move between Macs.