My downloads do not automatch - match to wrong transactions

Options
When I download a newly set up Direct-Connect Account, my downloads automatch to transactions that do not match. They are not even close to matching. Quicken will match the downloads to transactions that have already been reconciled. No other accounts have this problem and I have been using Quicking for 20 years so I do not think it is user error. - Any thoughts? Just FYI the same account was a BBVA account just recently been purchased by PNC. But they had me deactivate and reactivate with new credentials. The downloads worked perfect when it was BBVA.

Thanks

Answers

• UKR
    UKR SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Transaction download problems with matching and adding new transactions correctly

First please ensure that all optional settings in Quicken pertaining to recall, memorization, automatic categorization and renaming of payee names are enabled. You find those settings in Edit / Preferences / Data Entry & Quickfill and Downloaded Transactions. Additional settings can be found for the detection and processing of transfer transactions in Edit / Preferences / Transfer detection.

Are you automatically accepting downloaded transactions into your registers?

If you are relying on Quicken to "automagically" fill your account registers from downloaded transactions, you may run into problems. Despite all efforts by the Quicken programmers, the "Autopilot" (that's my name for the part of the Quicken program which processes downloaded transactions and converts them into new register transactions) is not infallible. For that process to work 100% of the time one would need a crystal ball because the information downloaded from the banks often is just too terse and cryptic.