Investment accounts are super slow with 2010 version

AFA
AFA Member
edited December 2021 in Before you Buy
Hello,

I have been using Quicken 2010 for many years and it works fine except for one big problem. I am wondering whether upgrading will solve the problem or if it will continue because of the number of transactions I have. The problem is that recording any transaction or reconciling in investment accounts is PAINFULLY slow (30-60 seconds to save each transaction or check off on reconciliation). I buy and sell stocks very frequently and I waste countless HOURS waiting for the system to finally record each transaction. I have a fast PC and recording transactions and reconciling checking and credit card accounts works fine. I would hate to upgrade and start incurring an annual expense if stock transactions and reconciliations in my investment accounts continue to be slow. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Armando Alonso
[email address removed for privacy]

Best Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2021 Answer ✓
    If you update to the subscription version, you can try the new Archive Transactions operation found under the investment account's gear icon. This will clean out transactions involving securities you no longer own.

Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Biz & Personal Subscription (US) on Win10 Pro.

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Answer ✓
    Since you can't see it in Q2010, I'll add a screen capture of the dialog Quicken presents when you invoke this operation. Reducing the number of transactions in your working account might speed things up.

Quicken user since version 2 for DOS, now using QWin Biz & Personal Subscription (US) on Win10 Pro.

Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel
    edited December 2021 Answer ✓