Adjusting the date of income to reflect new budget month (Q Mac)

P_D_N
P_D_N Member
I am new to Quicken and have a question - Can I adjust the date of income to fall into a new month for budgeting purposes. E.g. When salary hits on Jan 31 but is for Feb 1 pay period. I tried doing this and Quicken entered a "Live Opening Balance". Now my bottom line is off... Thank you

Best Answer

• John_in_NC
    John_in_NC SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    Changing the transaction back should fix things.

But yes, as Jacobs noted the cure might be worse than the problem. If you are new to Quicken, I would leave well enough alone until you get used to the program.

I have used Quicken since '91, and it wasn't until 2015 I actually started actively using the budget. Well, there were previous failed attempts when I made it too complicated :-)

Answers

• John_in_NC
    Howdy, P_D_N, and welcome to Quicken!

No, you can't adjust the date of income as the budget will simply pull the transactions from their date. Undo whatever you did to alter the Live Opening Balance. If you are confused, just ask.

And, Quicken's budget doesn't carry balances forward (rollover) as some people might like. But, that isn't necessarily a bad thing. :smile:

I wouldn't fret about your budget; focus on a few things, and monitor those categories. Sometimes we are over/under, but the budget simply helps us monitor things.

I will tell you that people who try to budget EVERYTHING have little success as the budget is unwieldy. Just focus on what you can control. 
  • P_D_N
    P_D_N Member
    Thanks for the quick response. Will do. Once I undo the edit, will the Live Opening Balance fall off? Or do I need to do anything with that?
  • jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Well, there are ways to do this... they just may not be worth the effort. ;)