403b Setup Best Practices

4pickering
4pickering Member ✭✭
edited July 2022 in Investing (Mac)
Hi, It's taken me time to get used to the way things get done in the Mac version instead of Windows, but I'm coming around. The data file I've curated for the last 15 years got corrupted with the conversion to the latest Mac release - this includes the backup I made. I have an open ticket with Quicken that I have yet to follow up on, but in the interest of keeping things up to date, I decided to start anew and rebuild the file natively.

My question is since I'm starting from scratch and the account is 4 years old, what best practices would you recommend for tracking a 403b? I'm a teacher and I have no employee match. Also, the firm handling the 403 is the Equitable, which I know doesn't support downloads. I'm specifically interested in tracking the performance of my plan. I know I'll need to enter the transactions manually each month. I'm not an accountant, but I do like knowing how well my money is doing. Thanks in advance!

Best Answer

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Answer ✓
    It really depends how much data you want to enter, going back how far. ;)

The simplest way might be to enter your holdings as of December 31, 2021, and then enter all transactions since then in order to start building a history you can track. Or you could go back to the end of 2020, or 2019, or as far back as you want, knowing you'll need to enter your investments from payroll withholding and reinvested dividends along the way.