Budget Disappeared.

Options

Answers

• mtn_living
    mtn_living Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I use close to same routine. I do a backup when I first open program then right after one step update before I start accepting transactions. I don’t see any attempted cloud synch except briefly when doing a restore. I seem, but can’t really definitely say, to see most frequent budget loss when I finish accepting multiple accounts including banking, credit and investment.
  • Joseph Hanna
    Joseph Hanna Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    As others have already posted, I have been losing my budget for many years.  The error message posted appears.  Clicking "OK" then restoring from the most recent backup does not solve the problem, the error message still appears.

My solution, which has been working well, is this:

1. Click on File: Open Quicken File: Select any other file to open (even if it's a "dummy" file);
    2. Once the file opens, repeat step 1 only this time select the original file with the missing budget;
    3. When that file opens the error message will not appear.  However, there will be no budget;
    4. Click on File: Restore a Backup File: Select the most recent backup file to be restored.

Miraculously the budget reappears.  Of course you will need to re-enter any transactions since your last backup.  I now backup every time I add transactions or make any changes to the file.  Fortunately Quicken added the option to add the time to the file name so we can have multiple backups on the same day.

I hope this helps.

• CMRater
    CMRater Member ✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2022
    Options
    Hey Joseph,