Transferring Quicken 2007 .qdfm on iMac macOS 10.12.6 to Quicken 2021 on iMac Monterey

Options
nalaselig
nalaselig Member
The posts on the closed discussion ‘Successful conversion of Quicken 2007 file to latest Quicken’ were VERY helpful. However, as this discussion is now closed, I am somewhat nervous about my interpretation of the recommendations that I took from this. I would be grateful if somebody could confirm that I am going to follow the correct and if possible simplest procedure.

I have been using Quicken for 40+ years, initially Quicken for Windows and converting to Quicken for Mac in 2005. I am currently running Quicken 2007 (Canada) on my iMac running macOS 10.12.6 Sierra. I accepted that I was not eligible for updates on either but as everything was working just fine I was comfortable with that. However, I now want to upgrade to the latest iMac. The old one is working OK but it may be running on borrowed time. In upgrading my hardware it makes sense to do the same with my software, including Quicken. I will have to do this in any case because v 2007 will not run on Monterey. So my question is how do I transfer my files from Quicken 2007 to 2021?

All my Quicken files are backed up on both my HD and a USB 1 stick as .qdfm files. They are also copied with all my other files on my Time Machine external HD. I will use this to migrate all my files, including the Quicken 2007 application to my new iMac. I realise this will not run on Monterey but I note the caution in the discussion I am using as a reference about not being in a hurry to delete it. Can I assume from reading the other posts that after downloading Quicken 2021 on my NEW iMac, I will then be able to read and transfer the .qdfm data using the USB stick and/or the files transferred by migration from the Time Machine HD?