How do I record the cash that I received for charging my credit card for friends?

Options
surestoreus
surestoreus Member ✭✭
I'm new to Quicken. How to record the cash that I received from friends after paying for a restaurant bill or something brought online? Btw, I do not keep track of my cash transaction in Quicken.

Best Answers

• Boatnmaniac
    Boatnmaniac SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 2022 Answer ✓
    Options
    Sorry, I misunderstood.  I don't think it would be a good idea to do it as you asked because the "restaurant" part would be a debit and the "mis income" would be a credit so they would cancel each other out and your credit card transaction total would be $0. You want to make sure your credit card transaction total remains unchanged at $100 total otherwise your account balance will go out of whack.
    I would not use the misc income category for a couple of reasons:
    • The money received from "Bob" is not income.  It is simply a reimbursement for an expense.
    • If you use the incorrect income category it could be counted as taxable income which would skew the tax reports and tax planner.
    What I probably would do in this case:
    1)  Enter the credit card transaction for $100.
    2)  Split the transaction category:
    • 1st line of the split transaction = $50 debit for "restaurant".  This would be for your share of the meal.
    • 2nd line of the split transaction = $50 debit for "cash".  This would be for "Bob's" share of the meal.  You could enter a memo that this was for "Bob's" dinner and that "Bob" reimbursed you with cash.  "Cash" is the appropriate category because you are not depositing it and will spend it as cash at some time so it is a "cash" expense.
    • Forget about recording an entry anywhere else for the $50 your friend paid you back.  It was cash and you noted it as cash in the 2nd line of the split category.