Confused about what happened after adjusting categories

Options
LXPF91
LXPF91 Member
I'm new to using Quicken, just started yesterday, but I had gotten most of my accounts connected last night. I was going through and adjusting the categories today so that the Budget and other tracking features would actually make sense. After doing that though, for the last 3 months of transactions, all of the balances were messed up. I'm pretty sure I didn't change anything else. Does changing the categories change where transactions go or come from? I thought categories were just like a label.

Thank you for any help,
Lucas

Best Answer

• mshiggins
    mshiggins SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    The category field can contain a category - which, as you suspected, is like a label.

The category field can also indicate a transfer between two accounts, like when you pay your credit card from your checking account. In this case, the category field will contain the transfer account enclosed in square brackets, for example [Checking].

Changing the category of a transaction from a transfer account to a category removes the other half of the transfer. This can definitely change account balances. 

Quicken user since Q1999. Currently using QW2017.
    Questions? Check out the Quicken Windows FAQ list

Answers

• LXPF91
    LXPF91 Member
    Options
    After looking at the thread about One Step Updates messing with balances, I'm wondering if it wasn't just that all along. I really don't have a way to know though since I just started over hoping it was just something I did while updating categories.
  • Sherlock
    Sherlock Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    If you haven't already, you may want to review: https://help.quicken.com/display/WIN/Reconciling+banking+accounts
  • LXPF91
    LXPF91 Member
    Options
    Thanks Sherlock,

I'll definitely have to do that before I put too much time into customizing everything again. And maybe set Auto Backup to every time I open Quicken.