Quicken Reconcile is Incorrect (Version R42.19)

Options
btseed
btseed Member
I have a (+) balance on a credit card which matches my bank statement, the Quicken Register, and the 'Statement Ending Balance' when reconciled (e.g. 50), however during the reconcile the 'Cleared Balance' is the same value but Quicken placed a (-) in front of the value in the 'Cleared Balance' line of the reconcile (e.g. -50). The 'Difference' is reflecting 100.
I have verified my bank statement with the bank and what I have entered in Quicken several times and there are no errors. I have also closed and restarted Quicken without success. I have been using Quicken since the 1990s and have never seen this problem. Any assistance that could be provided would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
btseed

Best Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    In your card account, in Q, what color is the balance column?
    Normally, for a credit card where you owe money, it should be red.
    By any chance is that balance BLACK? Which would indicate that you've got a credit balance and the card owes you $50.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• btseed
    btseed Member
    Answer ✓
    Options
    I received a credit from a return which caused the credit card to reflect a positive balance. I do most (if not all) of my banking online. I do the downloads for my accounts almost daily and then perform a reconcile for any cleared items. I've had hiccups with Quicken lining up with the accounts before but have always been able to resolve the issue. This one has me scratching my head because everything is correct except for the (-) sign on the Cleared Balance.