Why on earth is the filter for transactions by (Date) not by Date by Order Entered)?

Options
TTSguy
TTSguy Member ✭✭✭✭
 My background is in engineering, however I'm also very good with numbers! What I don't understand is why Quicken has set the DEFAULT filtered date filtered for transactions to "Date"?

My CU processes my transaction in the "order" they came to the credit union?  Wouldn't accounting protocol want transactions to match the Date / Order Entered on the FI's statements for obvious reasons if you have to compare your Quicken to your bank statement. 

It seems to me that the two should mirror each other. As it is (or) was, if you reset your filters or change the filters in any way, they automatically change or "reset to the default to Date, instead of Date / Order Entered. after another filter change.  Why isn't Date /  Order Entered

As it is I may show a transaction from my FI at month end that doesn't show on Quicken  OR vise-versa, especially if I use a filter to look at a specific month. This doesn't seem like the way a CPA or Bookkeeper would prefer!

Best Answer

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options
    TTSguy said:
     My background is in engineering, however I'm also very good with numbers! What I don't understand is why Quicken has set the DEFAULT filtered date filtered for transactions to "Date"?
    Well, my guess at this is that sorting by date/order came after sorting by date.
    Developers are reluctant to change defaults after they have been established because if you change them, there is always some customers that are going to complain about that change.  People hate change, even if the change is for the better.

But on top of this, in general they aren't going to change something that no one has asked for.
    If there isn't an Idea thread for this you should create one so that people can vote on it.
    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/

Answers

• Rocket J Squirrel