Would a holding account help me solve many problems.

Options
This is my first time using the quicken community. I have used some of the basic functions of the program but I want to be able to better show the money trail and keep up on who has or hasn’t paid rent etc.. I have a rental where the tenants pay the rent and a flat fee for the utilities. I want to use the rent center and don’t want to have the utility payments added into the rent. The housing is for 3 students and they all pay their rent through vinmo (usually) separately. Some use one vinmo entry to pay for both the rent and the utilities together and others use two separate entries to pay their bill. I have some tenants that pay more than one month in advance and others that are behind a month or more. When they first start renting many will include their deposit with the rent. I read about using a holding account that sounded like it could be useful in one or all of these situations but the posts I have read haven’t made it very clear how the mechanics of this work. Is someone able to explain in detail how a holding/suspense account works and how I use the Rental center for the rent and at the same time split the check and categorize the other part. Visual representation of what the different screens might look like would be super-helpful. I am using the Windows quicken Home and Business subscription. Thanks for your time and efforts, HandyMan.

Answers

• india just
    india just Mac Beta Beta
    Options
    I think you will have to do some manual editing of such irregular and mixed payment streams. I have several private loans that pay  mix of interest, service charges, fees, and principal. For whatever reason they are unable to pay in a simple fashion.

I tried using such accounts in the past, but find the complexity is not worth the effort.