I turned off automatic categorization, but one account still categorizes. Why?

Options
I turned off automatic categorization, but one account still categorizes. Why? I don't want any transactions to automatically categorize.

Answers

  • aksonya
    aksonya Member ✭✭
    Options
    I believe what you are asking for is under ctrl+t which is the memorized payee list.

    If you did want to memorize a transaction you would do ctrl+m

    I've been using quicken over 30 years so I know the old school way.
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I'm not sure why this would happen only in one account since this is global thing, but maybe it is related to what @aksonya is pointing out.  There is a misconception about these settings:


    I think in the distant past they use to control both manual entry and for downloading, but these days they only control manual entry.

    What determines if Quicken is going to categorize a transaction is if it matches the downloaded payee (after renaming) to one of the memorized payees or if one has this setting on:


    In other words, if there is a memorized payee match to the downloaded payee, Quicken is going to use it unless you tell it not to with this setting:

    Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
This discussion has been closed.