Categories - Income vs Expense

TPao
TPao Member ✭✭

I want to use the same category for both expenses and income like on a standard P&L.

So I can have a category and colums for Budget, Expenses, Income, Net and perhaps % net vs Budget. It seems like a category can oly be one or the other. I'm relatively new to this. Thanks

Answers

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭

Can you please provide an example of what you'd like to be both an income and expense item?

A "standard P&L" would not have the same categoiry for both a income item and an expense item.

by definition, "income" is something you receive and "expense" is something you spend.

• TPao
    TPao Member ✭✭

A general ledger code can certainly have both. For example there is a GL for church flowers. There is an expense, but also an offsetting income from donations. You would want these to be the same line item.

• Bob_L
    Bob_L SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

Well booking them to the same category would make them the same "line item" if you ask me. Now if you want a separate budget category you could have one for flowers income and anther expense one for flower expenses. Another option could be to have a flowers category with two sub categories: one for flower expenses, one for flower donations(which would be booked as negative expenses). Would that work for what you want?

Quicken Business & Personal Subscription, Windows 11 Home

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭

No I wouldn't want them to be the same line item… because the income and expense would offset and I'd want to know each amount.

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• Mark1104
    Mark1104 Member ✭✭✭✭