When you restored the backup file, did you then deactivate the accounts in it?
Each data file creates a unique Cloud Account ID. Saving that file under a different name or restoring a backup file and simply giving it a different name will not change that Cloud Account ID. So, now you will have two files sharing the same Cloud Account ID. Because of this, some changes you make in one of the files will also affect the other file. If you deactivated your EWC and/or EWC+ accounts in that restored file it is messaged to that shared Cloud Account that they have been deactivated. Then when you open the original file, the Cloud Account messages to it that those same EWC and EWC+ accounts have been deactivated.
There are some other things that can also be affected by this "cross-talk" issue, such as adding, deleting or renaming categories in the restored back-up file will often also then be transferred to the original file.
To prevent this from happening:
The file copy created with this process will generate a new Cloud Account ID for the copied file which means that there will not be any cross-talk that occurs between this copied file and the original file. So anything you do in this copied file will not affect the original file in any way.
Did this answer your question?