Purge closed accounts, payees, securities, hidden categories

Options
jmclellan
jmclellan Member ✭✭✭

I have thousands of transactions. securities, closed bank and credit card accounts, payees, closed investment accounts, etc since I have been using Quicken since the early 1990's. I did some kind of archive at the end of 1999, so that my oldest bank account has a 1-1-2000 beginning balance - and it is still my primary banking account. Year-end copy does not get rid of closed accounts or most of the other issues. I am NOT wanting to do this to save disk space - although I am slightly over 505,000 kb. I want to get rid of the closed accounts, hidden categories, sold securities, etc. I really don't need brokerage account activity for accounts that were closed 20 years ago!

I am a CPA, and I love having all of my history - but the bottom line is that I very rarely run any reports older than the previous year. I just hate all of the closed/hidden accounts and categories, and especially what I assume are memorized transactions that come up - and can't figure out where to remove them! The ones that come up with hidden categories are really irritating! I also trade a lot of Options and the securities list includes thousand of options with expiration dates older than 5 years.

I am VERY close to turning off services in my data file and using it for an archive, and starting a totally new data file with balance forwards. My active investment holdings would be very difficult get set-up, but since my actual tax reporting comes out of my brokerage account, I may be willing to do it!

Never being able to purge thousands of things that can never be used again is causing me a lot of headaches!

Does anyone have any better ideas than just manually starting a clean data file?

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Starting a new data file might be your best option depending on how "clean" you want the data file.