Do "Renaming Rules" have to MATCH "Memorized Payee" List in order to work?? Help

Options
deex2
deex2 Member ✭✭
I use Windows 10 Home Premier version/ R49.33

I'm not an expert on here but have been using this program for several years. With in the last year or two I have tried using the "Renaming Rules" function and really have not had much if any success. I have looked up the "how to fix..." steps online and followed them and still they don't seem to work. I just came across an old chat/help session and it stated something to the effect of my question listed above and thought I'd see what others have to say and if you have any suggestions. I'm getting tired of manually going in and changing everything to how I would like.

Thanks in advance for any DETAIL helpful steps and or suggestions.

Answers

• splasher
    splasher SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

I use the renaming rules to get Quicken to change the downloaded payee so that it will match up to an existing transaction (probably auto entered from a reminder) or a manually entered transaction that used a memorized payee as its template.

The trick with renaming rules and it changed a few years back is that the default is looking for an exact match with the downloaded payee and not a "contains".

After creating the renaming rule, I always edit it to use the "contains" condition versus the "is" condition:

Even if you don't use memorized payees for a template for manually entered transactions, the renaming rules will consistently change your downloaded transaction payee to something consistent determined by you. The renaming rules use a combination of the downloaded payee and the downloaded memo fields for the "contains" to look in, so that you just need to find something unique in the combination to trigger its application as in this image:

Not sure why I keep the "Associate" in the renamed payee, but the idea was to change the meaningless "DDA" into something recognizable.