Savings to Checking transfers are not synching correctly

Options
OTTBMom
OTTBMom Member ✭✭
This has been an ongoing problem for me since about February of 2023.

Every month, right at the beginning of the month, I transfer money from my savings account to my checking account to cover that month's bills. Both accounts are with the same institution, I've been doing this for several years, and until now it's been working fine.

Now, I keep getting a mismatch where either the transfer out of Savings does not get downloaded, or the transfer into Checking does not. And in trying to fix it, I've ended up with duplicate transactions! Right now, I have about $4400 too much in Checking and about the same too little in Savings, because I have a duplicate transfer going way back to April. And if I delete the dupe, I end up worse off. I also tried just voiding the dupe, which worked until I had to reset my account (because it stopped downloading txns completely), and now it's back to being off on both sides.

I'm sure there is a fix for this, because you have a fix for everything. (Which is why I'm here, because usually you can fix my problems.)

I have restored from backup all the way to February 15, 2023 to see if I could just fix the problem and move on, but I must not have done that correctly because it ended up way worse. A lot of transactions did not download at all!

I can provide whatever information you need to help me fix this.

Thanks so much!

Answers

• NotACPA
    NotACPA SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

What bank?

What's the connection method to that bank? (do TOOLS, Account List … and look in the TRANSACTION DOWNLOAD column for this info)

Are you initiating the transfer in Q? Or just recording the transfer?

Q user since February, 1990. DOS Version 4
    Now running Quicken Windows Subscription, Business & Personal
    Retired "Certified Information Systems Auditor" & Bank Audit VP

• OTTBMom
    OTTBMom Member ✭✭
    Options