New Budget Quicken assigns a budget for only one Group and I have three Groups

Options
rsyoung
rsyoung Member ✭

I have been using Quicken Deluxe for about three years now. But I have not tried the budget option. I track three different groups with Quicken. I will call them Group 1, Group 2, and Group 3. I have assigned each Category to one of these groups in the Category List.

Today, I tried the budget option. I went to Planning/Budgets. I clicked on "Get Started." I used the default Budget name (My Budget 1). I clicked Next. I selected the option "Let Quicken select my transactions categories." Then I clicked on Next. Quicken sets up and displays a budget for Group 2. But it does not show any of the categories assigned to the other two groups.

Does Quicken allow a budget for just one Group of expenses? And if so, how can I get Quicken to make a budget for Group 3 instead of Group 2?

Best Answer

• obsidianjg
    obsidianjg Member ✭✭
    Answer βœ“
    Options

I ran into the same issue. You have to recreate your groups for budget purposes. It ignores the groups you set up for categories.

😐️

Answers

• rsyoung
    rsyoung Member ✭
    Options

Following my last comment, I assumed Quicken would only set up a budget for one Category Group (bummer). I have three Category Groups. For the sake of this discussion, I have named them Group 1, Group 2, and Group 3. In my previous comment, I said Quicken only set up a budget for Group 2. But then I noticed that Group 2's actual name comes first in the alphabet. So, I changed the names and put a "1-" before Group 3. Now the name for Group 3 is "1-Group 3." Then asked Quicken to set up a new budget. As I assumed, Quicken chose "1-Group 3." But, Quicken assigned $0 for the total budget and did not list any of the Categories I assigned to "1-Group 3." I know expenditures for Quicken Categories are assigned to "1-Group 3." Why doesn't Quicken assign budget amounts for Categories in "1-Group 3?"

• UKR