Should I be pruning my Quicken data file?

Options
dlipetz
dlipetz Member ✭✭✭

Looking for feedback on best practices from the Superuser community or other longtime Quicken users. I've been using Quicken since 1997 and have plenty of scar tissue from using the platform over the decades and am seeking feedback/advice before making any significant changes to my data file.

Currently using Quicken for Windows R50.8 Build 27.1.50.8. My data file now has almost 21 years of transactions dating back to 12/31/2002 and is 273MB.

Quicken says that my data file is way too large and I should reduce by archiving off at least 15 years of transactions.

What is the best practice for managing data file size? I am most interested in reliability and know how fragile the data file can be. I once tried Year End Copy to reduce the file size but immediately noticed that the starting balances of many accounts were wrong so quickly restored my backup and didn't try it again.

Thoughts? What are other folks doing? Am I nuts NOT to reduce file size?

Thanks in advance.

Best Answer

• Rocket J Squirrel
    Rocket J Squirrel SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

I am not experiencing any performance issues - just some anxiety over the large file size and the Quicken rep's statement about file size. So, given no symptoms, best practice is to forge forward as is?

If it ain't broke, don't fix it.