Best Practice to Mark Transaction Categorization as Confirmed

Options
efmaaz
efmaaz Member

Hi All - I am new to quicken and loving it so far. I realize that it'll take a little while for the system to learn all my vendors and what category they should be placed in so for now I'm manually reviewing every transaction. Is there a suggested best practice to mark the transactions that I've reviewed so I don't get confused where I've left off. I've been using the flag feature to mark ones that I've reviewed with a green flag but its a bit cumbersome as there is no bulk flag feature so I'm having to mark each transaction individually. Any other ideas?

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Quicken has two systems for reviewing/accepting downloaded transactions. You should be using one of these instead of the flag feature.

Just so I don't have to repeat it, here is an explanation the two processes, let me know if you have any other questions after reading this.

In a nutshell for "Automatically add to bank registers" mode you use the Status column and selecting it to mark it "reviewed" (status cleared) once you have reviewed the transactions. For when this mode is off you select a transaction in the Downloaded Transactions tab and see that it is correct and then accept it into/record it in the register.

Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • efmaaz
    efmaaz Member
    Options

Thanks for the reply - this was very helpful. I tried both ways and had a few follow up questions.

1. For the automatically add to register I noticed that if you edit a transaction (change the category or edit the payee name for example) it changes the status so that is blank instead of new. Is there a way to change it back?