Chase Balances Off - and it’s not the Pending transactions (edit)

Options

I have been using Quicken for more more than 10 years with many bank connections and this is the first time I am having this problem. It is not just that the pending charges are creating inconsistencies in the balances, even taking that into consideration my balances are off. I will go back to the end of reconciled transactions and the balance has changed someone unfindable because of long ago (years ago) transactions. It is not happening with any other downloads I do such as AMEX, Citibank

What is going on? It's become unusable.

Comments

• Shelley Belle
    Shelley Belle Member ✭✭
    Options

I meant someWHERE unfindable.

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

One problem that does crop up from time to time is that a download, for reasons unknown, will change an Account's Opening Balance. That's the first place I would look.

Probably the most common explanation for problems reconciling arise from some sort of user error where a transaction with an "R" in the Clr column gets changed, deleted, or a new transaction with an "R" slips into a prior period. But if you're sure that a download is doing this, (in my own file while I've had the occasional Opening Balance problem I don't remember other transactions getting changed), then your best defense is to set Quicken Preferences to automatically back up each and every time you run Quicken with the maximum (99) number of backups, and set prompts for "manual" backups at whatever number gives you those backups every few days. At least that way you should be able to find a pretty recent backup with the correct Account balance and figure out what needs fixing.

• Shelley Belle
    Shelley Belle Member ✭✭
    Options