Portfolio value and net worth reports and graphs are wrong

Options
rellim
rellim Member
edited October 2023 in Investing (Windows)

I have the latest updates. The portfilio value and net worth reports and graphs that have worked for years are no longer working. I tried creating new ones and they have the same problem. Most of the account values have been replaced with zeros. The main Home and Investing information when you first open up Quicken is correct.

These seem like genuine bugs and not user error. I have been using Quicken for 30 years and my data file is not corrupt.

I don't look at reports and graphs very often so I do not know when the problem first started. Is anyone else having the same problem?

Best Answers

• rellim
    rellim Member
    Answer ✓
    Options

I did a "validate and repair file". It found the following:

QDF:
    Validating your data.
    Quicken found an invalid transaction and removed it. "Voya" 0/ 0/1900

Now the reports and graphs work again!

I'm not sure how that 1 transaction got screwed up but everything seems to be okay now.

• Jim_Harman
    Jim_Harman SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

@MargueriteXX

Go to Edit > Preferences > Investing and make sure Show Hidden transactions is checked. Look for and resolve any Placeholders in the problem account.

Since the Validate and Repair did not fix the problem, I suggest you run the Net Worth and Portfolio reports for just the problem account. In the past there have been issues with some versions of the reports. Try the built-in reports at Reports > Net Worth & Balances rather saved reports or ones accessed elsewhere and see if the problem persists.

Make sure the ending dates for the reports are both set to today.

If none of the above explains the issue, one thing you can do is to set the ending date for the reports back in time until the error goes away. Zero in on the date when it first occurs and look for a transaction on that date that might explain the issue.