Amex Download - Reconciling balance issue (balance adjustment every time)

Options
WillyG
WillyG Member ✭✭

I have had this problem since the new log in requirements for AMEX. I download, and reconcile and it always adds a "balance adjustment" that is different every time. I compare the register balance to the online balance and they are the same.

The difference is not a pending charge — that isn't the problem. I've posted three different times and have gotten no satisfactory response. I have been using quicken for over 20 years so I understand how the process is supposed to work.

Description of the issue — the balance in the side panel with the list of accounts is different from the balance that shows in the register and different from the downloaded balance.

I have gone so far as to manually reconcile back to the statements and I always balance. It must be something to do with how AMEX/Quicken are interacting during the download. The balance being sent or recorded by Quicken from AMEX is not correct for the period of time being reconciled.

Can someone at Quicken review this issue and provide a suggestion for fixing it or provide an update to the program that corrects the issue.

Thanks,

Answers

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

It sounds like you are reconciling to the online balance and the online balance Quicken presents to you is always wrong, resulting in Quicken proposing an adjustment. Reading your previous posts you've stated that Quicken proposes an adjustment and then later proposes the exact opposite adjustment. That certainly supports the notion that the online balance presented is wrong, a perpetual timing difference. As suggested in a response to one of your earlier posts, perhaps going to Statement reconciliation would be an option.