How do I automatically assign percent split categorizations to previous transactions?

Options
JohnB4Dawn
JohnB4Dawn Member ✭✭

I have been using Quicken Canada for Windows for about 20 years. Now I am about to retire I am trying to get a better handle on our expenses. We have been very much a cash transaction household, but over the years I estimate that 70% of our cash transactions are for groceries. I would like to go back to all the previous ATM transactions with the category "Cash", and now split them as 70% Groceries and 30% Miscellaneous. I am able to do this for new transactions that are downloaded with a Memorized Payee ("ATM Withdrawal"), but have exhausted myself trying to find an automated way to reclassify all my previous "Cash" ATM transactions - I have over 1400 so a manual update is not an option. While this is far from completely accurate it will give me a better estimate for what we're spending on groceries.

I usually can solve my issues with Quicken by working hard to find creative solutions but this one has me completely stumped — I've tried everything. (BTW This is my first post to the Community Forum in at least 20 years!).

Many thanks!

Answers

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

I don't think this can be done in Quicken.

On option might be to run a report and either manually do the math on that one category or export it to Excel and do it there.

Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Does the Canadian version of Quicken have the Lifetime planner?

Signature:
  • JohnB4Dawn
    JohnB4Dawn Member ✭✭
    Options