Incorrect "Prior balance" when trying to reconcile - do not download transactions (edit)

Options

I posted this same question in August. A couple people were kind enough to try and help, however neither response address my issue. I've been using Quicken for 20+ years and never had this issue. Now, it happens every month in multiple accounts across two seperate files.

When I go to reconcile, the prior month's ending balance does not match my bank statement. ((note: I do not download transaction)). Today I reconciled an account for September. I typed in the starting and ending balance per my bank statement and manually cleared the transactions. That deposit and debit totals match the bank statement. So, I let Quicken make an adjustment for the difference.

When I go to reconcile October in the same account - the beginning balance for October does not match what I entered as the ending balance in September. If I let Quicken do an adjustment to balance out at the end of September - doesn't that mean it will make an adjustment so that all the cleared (manually) cleared transactions + whatever adjustment, will balance so that when I go to reconcile October the begining balance would match the ending balance I entered from my bank statement? Thank you in advance for any assitance.

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

The first thing to understand is that the prior balance you see when start the reconcile is the calculated balance based on the reconciled transactions. If it is wrong, then it is because one or more of your reconciled transactions have been changed and you need to find that problem first.

The second thing to understand is even though Quicken allows you to change the Prior balance in the text box, you in fact it doesn't matter.

For example, I took an old account I had and changed one transaction from reconciled to cleared:

Now I will change that prior balance and see what it affects: