One step update corrupts account balances.

Options
wjrobert7
wjrobert7 Member ✭✭

Since the middle of September, I have been experiencing data corruption issues when performing one step updates across all accounts in my quicken data file. Usually I am able to correct this via a backup restore and re-linking all of the online services. This time when I download transactions from Discover card approximately 4 years of transaction history is lost, and the account balance is corrupted. There are no error messages displayed after the one step update completes. I have tried multiple backup restores, validate, super validate, account reset, remove and re-add online services. Nothing has corrected this problem.

The re-occurrence of these corruption issues are becoming intolerable so much so that I may have to just abandon quicken altogether. I have been using this software since 2003 and have never experienced corruption issues like this before.

Version R52.33

Build 27.1.52.33

Windows 11 Home, 22H2 Build 22621.2428

Comments

• Tom Young
    Tom Young SuperUser ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

This does sound like a corrupted data file problem. The only other thing I can suggest (if you haven't already) is to first use the Advanced Option of "Create a copy or a template" of the data file and then try validating or super validating that copy. The act of copying can sometimes fix thing enough to have a subsequent validation make the file usable, or if the Copy process itself fails altogether you know that the file probably isn't salvageable. The Copy process will disconnect all Accounts from downloading so you'll have to reconnect them after you're done.

• wjrobert7
    wjrobert7 Member ✭✭
    Options