Help with Busy Family Categories, Sub Categories and Tags for reporting purposes

Options
ES88
ES88 Member ✭✭
edited December 2023 in Reports (Mac)

Hello, this is my first time posting in the Quicken community. I have Quicken Premier for Mac, Version 7.3.2, (Build 703.50456.100). I am struggling with basic reporting and budgeting features in Quicken and I'm realizing its because I'm not using Categories, Subcategories or Tags correctly or consistently. Does anyone have any "best practices" or examples or suggestions for how an average family would setup their categories, subcategories and tag setup? I want to be able to pull basic reports (monthly, quarterly and annually for example) and see how were our money is going and more specifically, be able to see how much we're spending on specific children (clothing, shopping, gifts, school, etc). We have about 200+ transactions per month, a lot of different accounts, credit cards, bills and miscellaneous spending. 

Any suggestions or guidance would be very appreciated. Thanks! 

Answers

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

Typically, you would use categories that correspond to the types of things you're spending on: clothes, groceries, household supplies, toys, gifts, car, vacations, etc. If you want to then track by individual family members, create and use Tags for each family member. That allows you to create reports in two dimensions: by category, by tag (individuals), or a cross-tab report with categories in rows and tags in columns.

Use sub-categories when you want to see individual components of something larger. For example: for Auto, you might have sub-categories for fuel, repairs, parking. For travel, you might have sub-categories for airfare, hotels, admissions.