Arbitrary register column order

Options

Using Quicken Classic / Windows starter edition.

I know this has been asked for since Quicken for DOS. I'm one of the people who asked for it then, and I'm asking again now. Yes, I know there are two options for column order, but neither of them is what I'm looking for.

As a Windows developer myself, I know this is almost trivial to implement. Unless maybe you rolled your own grid component and are stuck with legacy code no one remembers how to change.

Is there another plausible reason for not implementing this feature? All of the topics I can find simply rehash the two choices we have and don't address the real question.

Please leave this discussion open so others can weigh in instead of quickly closing it.

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

This isn't as trivial as you think. They aren't using a standard grid component. They can't, between the fact that there is a one line and two-line mode and some other things, this component is actually custom component made up of other components specialized for this one purpose. And speaking of the two-line mode just having that restricts where certain fields can be. In fact, in the rewrite of Quicken Mac they purposely didn't implement two-line mode (even though people have complained about it) so that they wouldn't have this kind of problem. And not surprisingly in Quicken Mac you can basically move the columns around as much as you want.

Signature:
    This is my website: http://www.quicknperlwiz.com/
  • emptor66
    emptor66 Member
    Options

So we could have arbitrarily ordered columns by using single-line registers? I'd vote for that.

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

It would mean giving up two-line mode, and your fellow users would never go for that.

It was hard enough for Quicken Mac developers to resist putting it in, but removing it?

That just isn't going to happen, your fellow Quicken users wouldn't allow it.