QDF File Size Limitations or Recommendations

Options
David Brown
David Brown Member ✭✭

I'm using Quicken Classic Premier, version R53.32, build 27.1.53.32 on Windows 10.

My current data file contains transactions from 2006 to present and the QDF file is 321MB in size. I've been using Quicken since the DOS days of 1988, and I previously did yearend copies and started a "fresh" data file each year. However, I like having the ability to run reports over several years of data, so keeping everything in one data file since 2006 has been nice. I've noticed some slow down in the app's performance and transaction downloads over the last few years, and I'm wondering if my 321MB QDF file is beginning to push the limits of the application.

Looking for any information/advice as to any data file size limitations for Quicken, and recommendations on whether I need to "start anew" with a yearend copy and a fresh data file or if I can continue using and adding to the existing large data file. Thank you in advance.

David

Comments

• Chris_QPW
    Chris_QPW Member ✭✭✭✭
    Options

The first question I would have about your 321 MB file is if you are using attachments?

If so, they take up a lot of space, but have no impact on performance since they are stored separately and only fetched as needed. On the other hand, if you want to remove them going forward the copy function allows for that (note that the copy function will disable all online services so you will have to activate them in the copy again).