BUDGET TOTALS INCORRECT and I can't figure it out... (Q Mac)

Options
JoSheem
JoSheem Member ✭✭

I have a "Master Category" in my budget which includes six sub-categories, and all of the figures are correct except two. The twelve-month totals for all of the sub-category rows in the "Jan. to Dec." column - both actual and budgeted amounts - are the correct total for the year. In each individual month's column, the individual entries and totals for both actual and budgeted amounts are correct. The problem is with the "Jan. to Dec." Master Category annual total budgeted amount number. Instead of correctly adding up the sub-category budgeted amounts, it instead reproduces the total actual amount. I ran a report for this category, and all of the transactions seem to have been properly categorized - their didn't seem to be any orphan, un-categorized transactions - of the kind that Quicken labels "Other". I am, once again, very confused! Any help would be greatly appreciated…

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    Options

If I understand your description correctly, I'm not sure I understand how that could be happening. I'm not seeing it in my budget. You're saying the full year budget amount is the actual amount? So the same number appears in bold (actual) and light gray (budget)? If you switch to year-to-date, does the budget value remain unchanged? (If it's truly reporting the actual total, the full year and year-to-date values would be the same.) If you switch in Settings between Stacked and Side-by-Side layout, does that change anything?

Instead of correctly adding up the sub-category budgeted amounts, it instead reproduces the total actual amount.

So you're saying that adding up the 6 subcategory budget full year amounts does not equal the master category budget full year amount, right? What about summing the 12 values on the master category row? Is that sum equal to the value in the full year total column or not?