IRA Distribution

Options

Hi. I just took a first IRA distribution, so I'm new to this. In my investing/IRA account I see a sale, a check that doesn't say but is the amount sent to me, another item described check that was my federal income tax, and another for state income tax. my checking account shows a deposit for the net. What's the best way to track all this?

Tagged:

Answers

• maxwelwp
    maxwelwp Member, Windows Beta Beta
    edited April 12
    Options

These are not handled so well by Quicken. I had the same circumstance with Distrubutions. 3 entries in the IRA account each month. In order to properly track for tax purposes in quicken, create a xfer into your checking account similar to the following split. The downloaded transactions in your investment account can be deleted. Your monthly statement from the financial institution will still show the 3 transactions but will not match the quicken entries so when you reconcile each month, it can be marked as cleared/reconciled then.

Should also mention the created Tax categories are as follows:

“Never stop dreaming,never stop believing,never give up,never stop trying, andnever stop learning.”
    Quicken user since 1993

• Jon
    Jon SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta
    edited April 12
    Options

@Bennett S You have a choice to make. When you let your IRA manager withhold taxes from a distribution, the tax withholdings show up as withdrawals in the IRA. Some Quicken Mac screens & reports don't show transactions inside retirement accounts & won't accurately reflect the taxes you've paid. If you don't rely on Quicken to keep track of your tax payments then this may not be an issue for you.