"Sync"can mean "backup" where one file overwrites the another version of the same file, usually the later version overwrites the earlier version. But it can also be the larger of the two overwriting the other. Or one overwriting the other only if certain qualifiers are met (e.g. not modified in the last ___ days).
It can also mean "mirror" where all files in a set totally overwrite another set of files, regardless size or date.
Suppose you write a check on Quicken Classic Desktop. Later, you add a memo or category to that check on Quicken Cloud. What happens when you sync? Suppose you enter something in cloud and sync, then you delete that entry on the desktop app. What happens when you re-sync?