Allow QMac to OCR a Receipt for Splits

IAmMikeRana
IAmMikeRana Quicken Mac Subscription Member, Mac Beta Beta
edited August 31 in Product Enhancements

I know that there is the mobile app (that I'm still learning), but I predominately use Quicken from my MacBook Air. When I receive a receipt that itemizes purchases (I.E. a grocery store), it would be handy if MacOS detected a receipt within the Photos app, offered to OCR it, detect purchased items as they are shown, pull them into a transaction on the register, and add each item and its price to the split. I realize that something like "Speed Stick Deodorant" will likely show up as SPEED STICK because of how the retailer codes it, but I can go through and clean it up.

Additionally, I could see a use case for the Photos app to connect to our QMac accounts to allow direct importing and possibly matching a receipt to a transaction (maybe useful for the future Apple Intelligence?).

1 votes

Reviewed · Last Updated

Comments

• jacobs
    jacobs SuperUser, Mac Beta Beta

if MacOS detected a receipt within the Photos app, offered to OCR it, detect purchased items as they are shown, pull them into a transaction on the register, and add each item and its price to the split.

Wow, there's a lot to unpack in that request! 😁

The first problem is that the first half of your feature request is out of Quicken's hands and would require Apple to build such capabilities into macOS. Auto-detection of a receipt, followed by turning it into text seems unlikely to me, but it's not out of the potential of current technologies. But without such functionality, including an API for third-party applications to import the data, there's nothing Quicken can do to implement such a feature request.

Second, Quicken typically won't add features like this which can't be replicated on the opposite platform. So it might require a similar set of tools in Windows for Quicken management to decide to green light development of such a feature.